The Bharatiya Janata Get together on Saturday elected Himachal Pradesh College Vice Chancellor Sikandar Kumar as its candidate for the Rajya Sabha seat, which fell vacant after Congress chief Anand Sharma’s time period ended on March 14.

The social gathering excessive command selected Sikandar Kumar, who was the state BJP’s Scheduled Caste cell president till 2018 earlier than being appointed the HPU vice-chancellor. Kumar hails from Hamirpur district and can also be the pinnacle of Financial Affiliation of Himachal and Undertaking Coordinator and member of Central and State Companies.

With Kumar’s choice, the BJP has made it clear that it’s eyeing SC votes other than Rajputs. Based on the 2011 census, 50.72% of the state’s inhabitants is from the higher castes (32.72% Rajput and 18% Brahmin); 25.22% to Scheduled Castes (SC); 5.71% to Scheduled Tribes; 13.52% for Different Backward Lessons (OBC) and 4.83% for different communities.

Of the 68 meeting seats, 17 are reserved for Scheduled Caste candidates, whereas three are reserved for Scheduled Tribe candidates.

Hamirpur parliamentary seat new energy middle

With Sikandar being shortlisted for the Rajya Sabha, the Higher Home will now have two members from the Hamirpur parliamentary constituency.

BJP nationwide president Jagat Prakash Nadda is a Rajya Sabha member and belongs to Bilaspur, which is a part of the Hamirpur parliamentary constituency, and Info and Broadcasting Minister Anurag Thakur can also be from Hamirpur.

Sikandar Kumar has been engaged in educating, analysis and extension work for over three a long time. He has printed three books, Statistical Strategies, Microeconomics and Himalayan Economics, along with one journal and 31 analysis papers. He has participated in 110 seminars, workshops and conferences and supervised and performed 25 main venture experiences apart from guiding 52 MPhil college students and 63 MA Enterprise Economics college students together with 17 PhD college students.

Different candidates for nomination

Names of state normal secretaries (group) of northeastern states Ajay Jamwal and Mahindra Pandey, who was working as group secretary of Himachal BJP, have been doing the rounds for the Rajya Sabha seat. Different leaders up for nomination included former well being minister Rajiv Bindal, Jwalamukhi MLA Ramesh Dhawala, former BJP president Satpal Singh Satti, vice-president Ajay Rana, former Rajya Sabha member Kripal Parmar and political secretary to the chief minister Trilok Jamwal.

The appointment of Sikandar Kumar as HPC VC has come below controversy as his appointment was challenged within the court docket.

Supply hyperlink