Although caste neither makes nor breaks the electoral prospects of politicians in Himachal Pradesh, it performs an essential function within the politics of the hill state.

With elections approaching and social gathering employees outlining the electoral technique of their meeting constituencies, they marketing campaign throughout the state to cut back caste numbers. Each the foremost political events, Congress and BJP, pay due consideration to the issue of caste whereas deciding on candidates.

Based on the 2011 census, Himachal has a complete inhabitants of 68,56,509 out of which 17,29,252 (25.22%) are Scheduled Castes (SC), 3,92,126 (5.71%) Scheduled Tribes (ST) and 9,27,452 (13.52%) Others. belong to backward class (OBC).

The remainder of the inhabitants is from higher castes (50.72%) or different communities (4.83%). An additional breakdown of caste demographics exhibits that of the 50.72% higher castes, 32.72% are Rajputs and 18% are Brahmins.

The 68-member meeting has 20 reserved seats, 17 for SCs and three for STs.

Rajput rule

Dr Yashwant Singh Parmar, who was additionally a Rajput, grew to become the primary Chief Minister of the state in 1952 and dominated for 4 consecutive phrases for the reason that Rajput group has dominated the politics of Himachal Pradesh. Of the 5 chief ministers Himachal has seen, 4 had been Rajputs.

Virbhadra Singh, who has served six phrases and 22 years, is a Rajput. Thakur Ram Lal and Prem Kumar Dhumal additionally belong to this group. BJP’s Shanta Kumar, who headed the state twice from 1977 to 1980 and 1990 to 1992, was the one Brahmin to succeed in the put up.

The Rajputs have a considerable inhabitants in nearly all of the meeting constituencies and dominate Mandi, Shimla, Kullu, Hamirpur and elements of Kangra.

Apparently, the social gathering presidents of the Congress and the BJP have both been Rajputs or Brahmins. For instance, Congress president Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu and BJP state president Satpal Singh Satti are each Rajputs.

Position of Brahmins

The Brahmins, the third main group by way of numbers after the Rajputs and the Scheduled Castes, have given the state some distinguished leaders.

Shanta Kumar, the primary non-Congress Chief Minister of Himachal; Sukh Ram, father of telecom revolution in India; Former Union Commerce Minister Anand Sharma and Union Well being Minister JP Nadda are some examples.

Really Sukh Ram had as soon as come near turning into the Chief Minister when Anand Sharma was additionally within the race for the highest put up, however Virbhadra managed to spoil his recreation. Sukh Ram left the Congress and shaped the Himachal Vikas Congress (HVC) in 1997, which was instrumental within the formation of the Dhumal-led BJP authorities.

Nadda is taken into account to be the frontrunner for the put up of CM in BJP this time, though Sukh Ram has additionally joined the saffron social gathering alongside together with his minister son Anil Sharma.

Brahmins have been within the function of kingmakers in Himachal, however might by no means rule besides Shanta Kumar, whose two governments couldn’t fulfill their phrases.

OBCs can tilt the scales

It’s mentioned that the highway to Shimla passes by means of Kangra. And in Kangra, it is known as OBC Shot. Greater than 55% OBC inhabitants of the hill state resides in Kangra. The group dominates 18 meeting constituencies throughout the state and 9 of them are in Kangra alone.

At current, out of 15 Kangra MLAs, 4 are OBCs. Jawali MLA Neeraj Bharti and Conciliation MLA Jagjivan Pal had been additionally Chief Parliamentary Secretaries (CPS) within the Virbhadra authorities.

Different districts with extra OBC inhabitants are Una (15.01%), Hamirpur (7.83%), Sirmaur (6.86%) and Solan (4.25%). If the group votes collectively, it might probably tilt the scales in favor of both social gathering.

SC just one vote financial institution

Solely second by way of variety of Rajputs, the SC group has grow to be only a vote financial institution of political events. Besides in 17 reserved meeting constituencies, no social gathering has ever fielded a candidate from the Scheduled Caste group on unreserved seats. The group has a substantial presence amongst staff, merchants, farmers, gardeners and even politicians. However on the subject of energy sharing, they get a uncooked deal. There is just one SC minister within the current cupboard.

No SC chief has reached the put up of Chief Minister. Of the 68 meeting seats, 17 are reserved for the Scheduled Castes, whereas three (Bharmaur, Kinnaur and Lahaul and Spiti) are reserved for the Scheduled Tribes class.

padding impact

The Gaddis are a significant group among the many Scheduled Tribes of Himachal Pradesh and dominate the districts of Chamba and Kangra. The present cupboard has a seat in Thakar Singh Bhamouri, who represents the Bharmour meeting constituency in Chamba.

The tribe has a big inhabitants within the 12 meeting constituencies of Kangra and Chamba. Tulsi Ram, who misplaced by solely 16 votes in 2012, grew to become Speaker and Thakur Sen Negi, a robust chief from Kinnaur, remained Speaker for the longest time.

Supply hyperlink